The Crossref Curriculum

Manage users

This tab only appears if you are an account administrator. If you can’t see this tab, please start from your Similarity Check user account.

The Manage Users section lists all users who have access to your account. From this user profiles section, you can add new users or new administrators to your account, send activation emails, and deactivate and/or delete users from an account.

Manage users

Under the Manage Users section, you can also create reporting groups, view usage statistics, and set document sharing preferences.

Profiles

Within user profiles, you can:

  • Add a user: from Add User, click Add New User. On the User Information form, enter the new user’s details. Use the Reporting Group drop-down to assign them to a reporting group. Choose a time zone and language (this will be the language they see in the user interface and welcome email). You may upload an image to be attributed to the user - click Choose File to choose an image file from your device. Under the User Permissions section, choose whether this user may: submit documents or only be a reader of shared documents, select a reporting group to which to assign documents when uploading, share their folders with other users, update their profile information, and whether you would like to make this user an account administrator. Click Create to add the user to the iThenticate account.
  • Add a list of users: from Add User, choose Upload User List. To see an example of a correctly-formatted user list, click examples. Click Browse, choose your file, and click Upload. Click View profile to adjust the settings for each user.
  • Edit a user’s information: click Edit to the right of the user’s email to make changes to a user’s details and permissions
  • Resend an activation email: when a new user is added, they are sent an activation email. To resend their activation email, click Send Activation.
  • Deactivate a user: from the User Information page, click Deactivate User. A deactivated user may no longer log in to iThenticate, but all files associated with them are retained, and still viewable by administrators. Click Activate User to reactivate a user and restore their access to the account and all of their submitted documents and folders.
  • Delete a user: from the User Information page, click Delete User to permanently delete this user from the account. Once a user has been deleted, all the documents they submitted are no longer accessible by the account administrator or shared users. If you accidentally delete a user, click undo in the banner beneath the top menu. If you navigate away from the page, Delete User cannot be undone.
  • Search for a user: enter the user’s name into the search field and click Search.

Groups

Use Groups to create reporting groups and add users to groups. By grouping users, you can track usage statistics of a group.

  • To create a new group, enter a name for the new group in the Add New Group field and click Add Report Group.
Add new group
  • Add users to the group by going to the user’s profile, and use the Reporting Group drop-down menu to add them to a group. Delete a reporting group from your account by clicking the X icon to the right of the group name, and click OK to confirm.
Delete group
  • Change the name of a group by clicking the group’s name, edit the Update Group Name field, and click Update Group Name to save the new group name.
Edit group name

Reports

Under the Reports tab, you can access statistics for your account, reporting groups, and individual account users.

Reports
  • View usage statistics by user/group, month, or date range.
  • Click a group name to see more detailed usage statistics for the users in that group. Click a user’s name within a group to see their individual usage report, including document submissions, page count per month, and total submissions made.
  • Click your organization name to see your organization’s usage report, including statistics of all submissions by all account users. This will help you budget for the per-document invoice you’ll receive each January for the documents you’ve checked in the previous year. Learn more about fees for Similarity Check.
  • Click change by a report’s date range to change the date range. Enter dates in YYYY-MM-DD format or click the calendar icon to choose a date, then click Update Date Range.

Sharing preferences

From the Sharing tab, choose the type of sharing you would like to have for your account:

  • View only folders shared by other users (default)
  • View ALL users’ folders
  • View folders of selected users

To change the sharing type, select your preferred sharing type and click Update Sharing.

If you select the View folders of selected users option, you must also choose the users’ folders to be shared - to select a user, click the check-box next to their name, and click Update Sharing.

Set which non-administrator users may share folders by adjusting their permissions (learn more about user profiles.

Customize welcome email

A welcome email is sent to new users you add to your account. To customize this welcome message, start from the Email tab.

The customized message is prefixed to the automated email, but does not replace it. The text of the automated email cannot be changed, as it contains important information about your account.

Edit the Custom Email Subject and Custom Message fields as you wish, and click Set Custom Message. The Example “Welcome” Email Message will update to show you a preview of the welcome email.

Last Updated: 2020 April 8 by Laura J. Wilkinson